The Closet Workhorse

11 Oct

black_dress_blazer 003

black_dress_blazer 009black_dress_blazer 010

Jacket – Wilsons Leather | Blazer – Gibson via Nordstrom Rack | Scarf – H&M via Poshmark | Dress – The Limited | Boots – Cole Haan

Do you have a black dress in your closet?  One that can be dressed up or down?  If not, I highly recommend getting one.  I don’t really like to make lists of items that you HAVE to have in your closet because everyone’s lifestyle and favorite looks are different.  But a versatile black dress?  It’s pretty hard to find a woman who couldn’t benefit from having one.

Take this one for example.  I’ve also worn it two other ways since I started this blog.   Anything you can wear in both June and October just by switching up the accessories is a closet workhorse for sure.

Do you have a versatile black dress?  Would you want to own one?

black_dress_blazer 006

7 Responses to “The Closet Workhorse”

  1. Melinda October 11, 2012 at 8:30 PM #

    I am not so much a fashion conscious person, but I do have a versatile black dress. Very helpful thing to own. 🙂

  2. Katie of Alaskan Weredork October 12, 2012 at 3:24 AM #

    Oh wow, you are just having a killer week with your outfits! I really like your layering here with the scarf, blazer and then the leather jacket over the blazer. I’d never thought to layer a leather jacket over a blazer, it seems like a genius way to stay warm! (I’m so going to do this now.) I think I like most of all how you took varying shades of gray and black to create the outfit, but each piece really stands out and doesn’t get lost. I am just loving all of your fall looks!

  3. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions October 12, 2012 at 10:58 AM #

    I desperately need a little black dress. There have been far too many occasions where I’ve needed something to wear and thought, “You know, a little black dress would be perfect for this. Tooooo bad I don’t have one.” Haha. I’m hoping to spend some time downtown tomorrow anyway…maybe if I’m feeling ambitious I’ll knock that off my fashion bucket list 😉

    • Erin @ Loop Looks October 12, 2012 at 2:40 PM #

      The new Burlington Coat Factory (which has way more than coats) is open now if you want to check it out. It’s on State between Madison and Washington.

  4. kilax October 12, 2012 at 12:20 PM #

    I have a few black dresses! You can’t have too many, er… right?! 😉

Leave a comment