Inspiration Monday–Sparkle

29 Oct

black_peplum 006

black_peplum 007black_peplum 009

Peplum top – The Limited (similar)| Blouse – The Limited | Skirt – Banana Republic Outlet | Shoes – Via Spiga via Loehman’s | Necklace – JF&A Trade Show | Earrings – c/o Anjolee

 

Today’s Inspiration Monday from Two Birds is yet another “celebrity” that I’ve never heard of.

Ashley Madekwe

I’m not a huge fan of her peplum top with the jeans.  It’s making her look disproportionate.  Which is why I tend to pair my peplum top with a pencil skirt.  It just seems to flow better to my eye.

I did, however, continue to incorporate the sparkle of her top with my jewelry.  I just purchased this necklace and it turns out that it goes perfectly with the earrings that I recently received from Anjolee.

black_peplum 001

You may have heard of whoever Ashley Madekwe is, but have you heard of Anjolee?  They sell custom made diamond jewelry.  You can choose what type of jewelry you want, whether it’s a bracelet or an engagement ring.  From there you choose what metal you want (yellow, white gold or platinum), the diamond size and quality, and, if applicable, the size of the piece.

Even if you’re not in the market for some new bling, it’s still fun to play around on their website or use their free iPhone app to design your dream item.

Note #1: Anjolee provided me with these sample earrings free of charge in exchange for a post.  Me wearing them and loving them is of my own accord.

Note #2: I apologize for the photo quality for the next few weeks.  My camera took another header onto the concrete and I can’t justify spending another $145 on a new one less than 5 weeks after the last one. 

10 Responses to “Inspiration Monday–Sparkle”

  1. two birds October 29, 2012 at 12:05 PM #

    i love this top on you, and i love that necklace even more!!! it’s gorgeous!

    • Erin @ Loop Looks October 29, 2012 at 1:25 PM #

      Thank you! I just purchased the necklace last week and couldn’t wait to wear it.

  2. Jen @ Librarian for Life Style October 29, 2012 at 9:09 PM #

    So sorry to hear about your camera (!), but on the plus side, you look great! I like how you turned the inspiration into a work-appropriate (and proportionate) look. (And I only know this celebrity because I watched the first season of the TV show Revenge — campy fun!)

    • Erin @ Loop Looks October 30, 2012 at 10:18 AM #

      Hey, even if there’s not in-focus evidence there’s no excuse to look like a slob 🙂

  3. Katie of Alaskan Weredork October 30, 2012 at 3:23 AM #

    Hmmm, I think the strange thing out her outfit is that the peplum top doesn’t fit her proportions, it’s a short waist-ed peplum where she has a longer torso. (And the light jeans don’t help matters.) I think you were right going with the skirt, it creates such a sleek look and looks so very put-together and stylish.
    And yikes, how awful about your camera! My tripod has a weak leg so my camera ends up taking a dive every now and then, I’ve been pretty lucky that it’s a durable one. The quality of your photos doesn’t look to bad though, the close-ups show tons of detail still.

    • Erin @ Loop Looks October 30, 2012 at 10:12 AM #

      You’re totally right about her top not fitting her proportions. All I could tell was that it looked “off” but couldn’t quite tell why.

      For some reason both times I’ve dropped my camera it’s been fine with taking close-up shots afterward but can’t focus reliably on anything more than a foot away. Weird.

  4. kilax October 30, 2012 at 7:44 AM #

    I don’t know who that celebrity is, and her top makes her look like she is wearing mom jeans, even though she isn’t!

    Were you excited to wear the new necklace? Did you get any compliments?

  5. carisa October 30, 2012 at 9:01 AM #

    thats such a great version of the inspiration photo!! i have no idea who that person is but ive seen the pic, although im partial to peplum in jeans (and have never tried the skirt idea) i love it on you! it makes peplum work appropiate…which i have such a hard time doing!!

    ps thanks for stopping by my blog….your comment about “replacement refs” still has me laughing 😉

    xoxo

    • Erin @ Loop Looks October 30, 2012 at 10:19 AM #

      I’ve actually never worn peplum with pants because I can’t seem to find the right proportions. But, I’ll probably try it at least once this winter when it’s too cold and windy to wear a skirt.

Leave a comment