So you want to vacation in Alaska? Here’s how. [Part 1]

10 Aug

If you follow me on Instagram, you already know I went on vacation to Alaska at the end of June. And if you’ve talked to me in person since then you know that I think it was the trip of a lifetime.

I know there are lots of ways to take an Alaskan vacation, but the trip I went on was perfect for me, my interests, and my comfort level. In fact, it made me learn things about myself that I didn’t even know before!

So, I thought I would revive this here blog to tell you about my trip, my recommendations, and what I learned. Plus, then you get to see pictures of Alaska!

First things first, what did we do? I took this trip with members from my running club and the entire trip was planned mostly by a club member who has been leading trips to Alaska via the Sierra Club for years. And, yes, since we’re runners, many of us started our trip off with a race.

But we did so much more than run. In fact, here’s our agenda:

  • Thursday, June 21st – Arrive in Anchorage, AK
  • Friday, June 22nd – Explore Anchorage and pick up race packets
  • Saturday, June 23rd – Run the Mayor’s Marathon in Anchorage!
  • Sunday, June 24th – Drive RVs to Denali National Park and camp in Savage River Campground
  • Monday, June 25th – Hike the Savage Alpine Trail. Drive RVs to Teklanika Campground.
  • Tuesday, June 26th –  Take the park bus to Wonder Lake. Hike at Eielson Visitor’s Center.
  • Wednesday, June 27th – Back country hiking
  • Thursday, June 28th – Return RVs to Anchorage. Take charter bus to Seward, AK.
  • Friday, June 29th – Ice climb at Exit Glacier
  • Saturday, June 30th – Kayak in Resurrection Bay
  • Sunday, July 1st – Boat trip around Resurrection Bay. Take bus back to Anchorage
  • Monday, July 2nd – Explore Anchorage & fly home

I could write one GIANT post about my trip, but I thought it would be more fun to break it up into pieces. So, come along with me as I take you on a trip through Alaska!

2 Responses to “So you want to vacation in Alaska? Here’s how. [Part 1]”

  1. Mike August 10, 2018 at 11:18 AM #

    Hey Erin! It’s so good to see you posting on your blog again! Hope that you are doing well and life’s treating you good.
    Glad to hear that you enjoyed your vacation to Alaska! I look forward to hearing all about it!

  2. Bethany @ Accidental Intentions August 10, 2018 at 2:14 PM #

    I’m so excited to hear about the trip! It sounds amazing, and the pictures I saw on Facebook were so gorgeous!

Leave a comment